The first round of The Chase showcased some of the best racing of the season as each division made eliminations down to the Final 4 drivers.

Darrell Click, not Chase eligible, took the fast time of the night and turned it into this year's Flagger Boy 50 winner in the Hobby Stocks. Spencer Wortinger made an impressive late race pass over then 2nd place Travis Schlabach to finish 2nd and secure his advancement in The Chase. Schlabach finished 3rd followed by Rex Wert and Bobby Schisler. Melissa Stemes also raced her way in to the next round, finishing 8th. Eric Kiser was eliminated from Chase contention after failing to go through tech after the race, resulting in Rick Waterson advancing to the next round.

Donny Klotz won his first Elite Distributors Late Model Sportsman Feature of the season after setting fast time to lock him into the next round. Travis Schlabach came in a strong 2nd, followed by Mark Vance, Mike Cannon and Nick Stremme. Vance and Austin Maynard join Klotz and Stremme in the next round while Kevin Gunkel finished 8th and has been eliminated from championship contention.

Kevin Allen, already clinched a spot in the championship round, once again dominated the Mini Stock feature. Eric Frazier finished 2nd, advancing him to the next round, followed by Chad Wiser, Marcus Carlson and Dennis Frazier. Wiser and Patrick Allen will advance while BJ Blair has been eliminated after finishing 8th, 2 positions behind Patrick.

Doug Miller took advantage of squeezing into the Chase by winning his first feature of the season in the FWD's. Points leader, Jason Harman, finished 2nd followed by Sheldon Linlag, Anthony Kiser and Steve Key. Linlag, Kiser and Miller will duel it out next Saturday for the final 2 spots in the Championship round, joining Harman.

This Saturday will be the 2nd round showdown in all 4 divisions. A driver will be eliminated and our final 3 will be decided for who will be advancing to our Championship round. The Late Model Sportsmans will be going 50 laps for $1,000 to win. Klotz, Vance and Maynard will be fighting for the final 2 spots. The FWD's will be going 25 laps for $200 to win. Miller, Linlag, and Kiser will be racing for the final 2 spots. Hobby Stocks and Mini Stocks will also be eliminating another driver.

Gates open at 1pm, hot laps at 4pm, qualifying at 4:30 pm and racing at 7pm. The Paul Miller Memorial, 50 laps Late Model Sportsman race will take the track at 9pm, going for the $1,000 prize.

Kevin Allen- MS LMS- Donny Klotz

Posted by:


Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.