Tyler Roahrig had to do it in style this year. The co-fast time qualifier came from deep in the pack to earn his 4th win at the Summer Sizzler. Earlier in the day, Tyler Roahrig qualified a 13.095 to tie Phil Bozell for the fastest car in the running of the 15th Annual Summer Sizzler.

The field would be set with a full inversion, putting 16th fastest Brian Ross on the Pole and our 2 fast time qualifiers at the back of the pack in the 8th row. Young TK Whitman started inside row 2 and would not need much time to take the early lead over Brian Ross. Whitman would lead up until lap 37 before veteran Jack Landis would takeover the top spot. After several cautions and MADHOUSE restarts later, Tyler Roahrig would work his way up to the front to challenge Landis for the lead on lap 61. Tyler never looked back after taking the lead. Landis came in a strong 2nd, followed by JR Roahrig, Bud Perry and Bobby Stremme. Co-fast time qualifier Phil Bozell finished 11 after several pit stops throughout the race.

Earlier in the evening, Greg Parr and Kevin Sauer held off defending Summer Sizzler champions Andy Bozell and Scott Hantz to earn the transfer postitions in the 20 lap last chance race.

Our 50 lap Hobby Stock feature witnessed several lead changes in the final half of the race as Derek Lundgren, Melissa Stemes and Spencer Wortinger all owned the top spot for several laps. But points leader Travis Schlabach proved to be the car to beat by making the winning pass with 4 laps remaining to take home the $1,000 top prize. Fast qualifier Darrel Click would finish in 2nd, followed by Stemes, Eric Kiser and Richard Courson.

For complete Summer Sizzler results, please visit our RESULTS page of the website!

Tyler Roahrig-fast qualifierPhil Bozell-fast qualifierDarrell Click-fast qualifierTravis Schlabach- HSgroup photo

Posted by:


Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.